Steering Office

  • Chief John Desmaris

Police Officer’s Commission On Standards and Training (Post):
(NOTE: This committee is appointed by the Governor)

  • Chair: Chief Anthony Pesare
  • Member: Colonel Ann Assumpico
  • Member: Chief Edward Mello,
  • Member: Chief David Palmer
  • Member: Mr. Shawn J. Brown (Middletown Town Administrator)

Violence Against Women Law Enforcement Task Force Liaison:

  • Representative: Chief Mike Chalek
  • Alternate: Chief Steven Baker

State Crime Lab (Senate Approval Needed):
Governor Appointment / Senate approval needed

  • Representative:
  • Alternate: Chief Steven Baker
  • Medical Examiner’s Office:

Law Enforcement Planning Committee:

  • Chair: Colonel Stephen M. McCartney
  • Co-Chair: Chief Paul KIng
  • Member: Chief Gary Silva
  • Member: Chief John MacDonald
  • Member: Chief John Desmarais
  • Member: Colonel Richard Silva
  • Member: Chief Thomas Blakey
  • Member: Chief Joseph DelPrete
  • Member: Chief Richard Ramsay
  • Member: Colonel Michael Winquist

Criminal Justice Hall of Fame:

  • Board Member: President RIPCA, Chief Dean Hoxsie
  • Alternate: Executive Director RIPCA

Traffic Safety Coalition:

  • Representative: Colonel Richard Sullivan

Rhode Island Commission on Bias and Prejudice:

  • Representative: Chief Jeffrey Allen
  • Alternate: Colonel James Mendonca
  • Alternate: Chief Thomas Oates


  • Respresentative: Colonel Hugh T. Clements

Executive Board/100 Club of Rhode Island:

  • Represenative: President RIPCA, Chief Dean Hoxsie
  • Alternate: Chief James Mendonca

Special Olympics/R.I. Torch Run (LACP Sanctioned):

  • Chair: Chief Elwood Johnson
  • Member: Chief Stephen Lynch
  • Member: Chief Christopher Parella
  • Member: Chief Richard St. Sauveur

Rhode Island League of Cities and Towns:

  • Representative: Chief Dean Hoxsie
  • Alternate: Chief Hugh Clements

Board of Police Officers’ Relief (RI Dept Labor & Training Office): 

  • Representative: Chief Richard Ramsay

State Emergency Response Commission:

  • Representative: Colonel Stephen Lynch
  • Alternate: Chief John MacDonald

CJIS Policy Advisory Board

  • Representative: Chief Edward Mello

Flashing Red Light Committee R.I.G.L 31-23-11.1

  • Representative: Chief David Palmer
  • Representative: Chief William Ziehl
  • Representative: Chief Stephen Lynch

Interoperable Communication Committee:

  • Representative: Chief Leo Messier

Joint Municipal Shared Services Study Commission:

  • Chaired by Lt. Governor Daniel McKee
  • http://www.ri.gov/press/view/24550

Public Safety Dispatch Advisory Committee

  • Representative: Chief Brian Sullivan
  • Representative: Chief Dean Hoxsie
  • Representative: Chief Elwood Johnson

Joint Behavioral Health & Firearm Safety Task Force:
Joint Resolution creating a behavioral health and firearms safety task force to review and make recommendations for statutes relating to firearms and behavioral health issues.

  • Representative: Chief Elwood Johnson