The Thomas E. Sweeney, Jr. Risk Management Innovation Award is presented to the entity which best exemplifies the spirit of innovation and leadership in risk management, something Thomas E. Sweeney, Jr. demonstrated frequently during his tenure as Chairman of The Trust.

The recipient of the Trust’s 2012 Thomas E. Sweeney Risk Management Innovation Award is the Rhode Island Police Chiefs’ Association in recognition of its commitment to exemplary law enforcement operations through the newly established Rhode Island Police Accreditation Commission.

Under the Rhode Island Police Chiefs’ Association, the In-State Accreditation Commission was formed as a non-profit 501 (c)3 organization. The Commission is comprised of law enforcement executives, members of academia, representatives from police unions, a member from the long standing police accreditation coalition and a member of the Rhode Island League of Cities and Towns.

The Rhode Island Police Accreditation Commission’s program will require that law enforcement agencies meet professional standards similar to those established by the national Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc. (CALEA), but with a focus on the specific needs of Rhode Island police agencies.

The Commission has begun its work on developing an extensive set of standard operating procedures and policies and will also address high profile issues such as use of force, high speed pursuits and impartial policing standards.

Although not a Trust Member per se, the Association continues to have a substantive impact on policing across Rhode Island and is well deserving of this recognition. Of the 38 municipal police agencies in Rhode Island, 31, or 82%, are Trust Members, representing approximately 1,500 police officers.

The Trust commends the RIPCA for its leadership in this vital undertaking designed to better ensure that the practices followed by our local police departments are current, progressive, and in accord with prevailing legal standards.

View & Print:  Thomas E. Sweeney Award Letter